Date: 11th May 2016 at 8:23pm
Written by:

With relegation for a second successive season confirmed, and Blackpool gearing up for life in League Two next season, the club have now confirmed the retained and released list ahead of the 2016/17 campaign.

Six players will leave this summer when their contracts expire next month, but fresh terms have been offered to midfielder David Norris and Blackpool have utilised the option they held on centre half Tom Aldred to automatically extend his deal by a further 12 months.

Obviously with the campaign now over, those on loan at the club will return to their parent clubs as well at this stage of the year.

The headline departure in many ways is skipper David Ferguson, who clearly regressed after being handed the armband by manager Neil McDonald when he no doubt needed to focus on his own game and development, but his departure probably speaks more about decision making than it does the player himself.

The full lists are:

Already under contract for the 2016/17 season:
Will Aimson
Henry Cameron
Mark Cullen
Colin Doyle
John Herron
Luke Higham
Kyle Letheren
Jim McAlister
Bright Osayi-Samuel
Danny Philliskirk
Brad Potts
Jack Redshaw
Clark Robertson
Mark Yeates

12 month option used:
Tom Aldred

A new contract has been offered to:
David Norris

Offered and agreed professional terms:
Macauley Wilson

Offered professional terms:
Myles Boney

Those released:
Emmerson Boyce
Charles Dunne
David Ferguson
Connor Oliver
Martin Paterson
Jarrett Rivers

Loan players returning to parent clubs:
Jacob Blyth
Uche Ikpeazu
Lloyd Jones
Liam Smith
Hayden White

Blackpool Bloggers

Join The Vital Debate