Date: 1st June 2017 at 12:47am
Written by:

Blackpool are represented in the EFL Team Of The Play Offs that has been selected following the final Play Off Final of 2016/17.

Huddersfield Town booked their place in the Premier League for next term with a penalty shootout victory over Reading at Wembley in the Championship Play Off, whilst in the League One Final Millwall won one nil over Bradford City to reach the Championship. Finally League Two, saw Blackpool overcome Exeter City two one to reach League One.

Taking in the Semi Final stages of the Play Offs as well, here is the team selected.

The performances by Bright Osayi-Samuel, Brad Potts and Mark Cullen in Blackpool’s three games against Luton Town and Exeter City was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Play Off competition.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why the trio were selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the blurb read.


‘The future’s definitely bright for the young winger, who was introduced in the Play-Off Final as an early substitute after an injury to centre-back Tom Aldred. That forced a tactical reshuffle, but Osayi-Samuel provided a crucial outlet and was a constant threat, helping to swing the game back in Blackpool’s favour.’


‘Potts was influential in Blackpool’s semi-final success against Luton Town, and he was named Man of the Match at Wembley. Opening the scoring early on, Potts continued to be a driving force, and set up the promotion-winning goal in the 2-1 success over Exeter City.’


‘A star of the Play-Offs, Cullen scored a semi-final first leg hat-trick to give Blackpool the advantage over former club Luton Town, and notched two assists in the second leg. Then to Wembley, where an exquisite lay-off set up Potts’ opener, before poking home himself to send the Seasiders back to Sky Bet League One.’

Full Team:

Danny Ward (Huddersfield Town), Tony Craig (Millwall), Christopher Schindler (Huddersfield Town), Chris Gunter (Reading), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Blackpool), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Brad Potts (Blackpool), David Wheeler (Exeter City), Steve Morison (Millwall), Mark Cullen (Blackpool).

Manager – Neil Harris (Millwall).